i've got the best of interventions

Friday, August 05, 2005

Austin City Limits: 1975-1980

Austin City Limits: 1975-1980

The Austin, Texas music scene of the early 1970s was already a destination for the unconventional musician. A group of people involved in the music and broadcasting scene came together to develop the idea for Austin City Limits. PBS granted funding for a pilot episode to be recorded.

Aiming to capture the energy of live music and the experience of the audience and performer, the program was taped in the round, with a live audience. Studio 6A at the University of Texas at Austin was to become the show's home. Relative unknown Willie Nelson was tapped for ACL's pilot. When the show aired, it set fund-raising records for PBS across the South, and a full season was ordered, to begin in 1976. In January of that year, the innovative new music program hit the airwaves, bringing the original sounds of Asleep at the Wheel, Townes Van Zandt, the Charlie Daniels Band, Jerry Jeff Walker and more to homes across America.

In 1977, Gary P. Nunn's "London Homesick Blues" (click to stream) becomes the program's theme song and would continue as such up to the conclusion of the 29th season. This song would soon become synonymous with Austin City Limits.

Other highlights of the 1975-1980 period were Willie Nelson's performance of his entire Red Headed Stranger album and the appearance of the first of many Nashville stars such as Chet Atkins. Zydeco legend Clifton Chenier makes his ACL debut in 1976.

The diversity of the program is displayed with performances by songwriters John Prine and Tom Waits, Jimmy Buffett, Joe Ely and Ray Charles.

The research for this 'project' playlist has been enjoyable and I hope you'll find this look back at the history of quality music in America and especially the South as entertaining as I have!

Coming up: Austin City Limits 1981-1985

Tuesday, August 02, 2005

The Sunday News

There are not enough hours in the day. More updates soon, I promise. Working on a big one. Don't give up on me.

Here are the latest additions to the playlist of The Sunday News for July 31, 2005. Features The Rocket Summer, 311 and Adam Richman.

Listen to The Sunday News, 7/31/05

* "Maureen" - Fountains Of Wayne
* "Brat Pack" - The Rocket Summer
* "Love Steals Us From Loneliness" - Idlewild
* "Don't Tread On Me" - 311
* "Cash Machine (Album Version)" - Hard-fi
* "Paper Shepherd" - Facing New York
* "Tessie" - Dropkick Murphys
* "Mary-Anne" - Adam Richman
* "Bleed Like Me" - Garbage